Workflows Community Summit 2022

A Roadmap Revolution

Workflows Community Summit 2022

November 29 and 30, 2022
8am-11am PST / 11am-2pm EST / 17:00-20:00 CET

In the 2022 edition of the Workflows Community Summit, we will revisit the 2021 community roadmap, discuss how things have evolved and propose an updated roadmap. This unique virtual event invites researchers and users of workflow management systems, and will seek to identify crucial challenges in the workflow community.



Agenda

Day 1 - Nov 29, 2022

Time Event
8:00-8:05am PST
11:00-11:05am EST
17:00-17:05 CET
Welcome and Introductions
8:05-8:10am PST
11:05-11:10am EST
17:05-17:10 CET
The Workflows Community Initiative overview
Rafael Ferreira da Silva (ORNL)
8:10-8:20am PST
11:10-11:20am EST
17:10-17:20 CET
Remembering the 2021 Roadmap
Rafael Ferreira da Silva (ORNL)
8:20-8:50am PST
11:20-11:50am EST
17:20-17:50 CET
Lightning talks
  • Topic 1: Specifications, standards, and APIs
    Daniel Laney (LLNL), Kyle Chard (UChicago)
  • Topic 2: AI workflows
    Shantenu Jha (BNL), Timo Bremer (LLNL)
  • Topic 3: High performance data management and in situ workflows
    Silvina Caino-Lores (UTK), Frédéric Suter (ORNL)
8:50-9:00am PST
11:50am-noon EST
17:50-18:00 CET
Break
(preparation for breakouts)
9:00-10:30am PST
noon-1:30pm EST
18:00-19:30 CET
Breakout sessions
  • Topic 1: Specifications, standards, and APIs
  • Topic 2: AI workflows
  • Topic 3: High performance data management and in situ workflows
10:30-10:45am PST
1:30-1:45pm EST
19:30-19:45 CET
Break
10:45-11:00am PST
1:45-2:00pm EST
19:45-20:00 CET
Reports from breakout sessions

Day 2 - Nov 30, 2022

Time Event
8:00-8:10am PST
11:00-11:10am EST
17:00-17:10 CET
Welcome and Introductions
8:10-8:45am PST
11:10-11:45am EST
17:10-17:45 CET
Lightning talks
  • Topic 4: HPC and Quantum workflows
    Rosa Badia (BSC), Ian Buckley (Agnostiq), Venkat Bala (Agnostiq)
    • Tensor Networks for Quantum Simulation
      Artur Garcia Saez (BSC)
    • Advances in Hybrid Quantum-Classical High-Performance Computing
      Stefan Andersson (ParTec AG), Mathias Pütz (ParTec AG)
    • Workflow Scheduling Using Quantum Devices
      Justyna Zawalska (Academic Computer Centre CYFRONET AGH)
    • Mechanisms for Enhancing Reliability/Recovery and Performance of Future Workloads
      Ryan E. Grant (Queen's University)
    • HPCQC System Workflows
      Martin Ruefenacht (Leibniz Supercomputing Centre)
    • Multi-Core Quantum Computing
      Aharon Brodutch (Entangled Networks)
  • Topic 5: FAIR workflows
    Carole Goble (UManchester), Daniel S. Katz (UIUC)
  • Topic 6: Workflows for continuum and cross-facility computing
    Debbie Bard (NERSC), Tom Uram (ANL), Nick Tyler (NERSC)
8:45-9:00am PST
11:45am-noon EST
17:45-18:00 CET
Break
(preparation for breakouts)
9:00-9:15am PST
noon-12:15pm EST
18:00-18:15 CET
Invited talk: A Translational Perspective on End-to-End Workflows
Manish Parashar (Utah)
9:15-10:35am PST
12:15-1:35pm EST
18:15-19:35 CET
Breakout sessions
  • Topic 4: HPC and Quantum workflows
  • Topic 5: FAIR workflows
  • Topic 6: Workflows for continuum and cross-facility computing
10:35-10:45am PST
1:35-1:45pm EST
19:35-19:45 CET
Break
10:45-11:00am PST
1:45-2:00pm EST
19:45-20:00 CET
Reports breakout sessions

Supporters